Meme mania

The writing factor of a meme is very important because though memes, at first glance, appear to be a very visual media, the text is incredibly important to give context for that exactly is supposed to be funny. The text has to be clear and concise so that it does now overpower the visual aspect and simple enough that practically anyone could understand what is being written. Of course, niche memes function differently, and slang, references, and other specifics can go over the heads of those who are not in on the joke, but for those that do understand, the specific writing can enhance the meme experience.

The visual aspect is very important and in some instances, it can function entirely on its own, independent of the traditional meme format. With memes such as “It’s free real estate.”,and “Then perish” a simple photo, bar any text on it, can communicate the meeting to a wide audience, since it is such as wide cultural phenomenon. The visual aspect is also vital because it directs the eye of the reader on how exactly they are supposed to read the meme. Without the visual aspect, the writing is simply just text and the “joke” is lost.

The visual and written parts of the meme are both very important- they work together in tandem to create a joke. 

Question: What is your favorite meme trend? Past or present.

2 thoughts on “Meme mania

  1. My favorite meme trend by far has to be the “This Is Fine” dog, in the room on fire. I have seen it and said it so much that it has become a part of my regular vocabulary. Spiritually, I am always and have always been that cartoon dog in the room on fire. I think part of the reason why it’s stuck with me for so long is that it’s so applicable to so many situations, and has continued to be relevant as it feels like the entire world is that room on fire. Memes are so successful primarily because they are so relatable and readily available to the general public, and the “This Is Fine” dog represents that perfectly for me.

    Like

  2. I have a few favorite memes, now that I think about it. I also like the This is Fine dog because… relatable. I like the If Only I Had One meme with the dad from the Fairly Oddparents too, for some reason. I also like the two Spiderman one too, where they point at each other. Honestly, I’m not sure if I could articulate what I like about those last two besides that I’ve just enjoyed most of the ones I’ve seen.

    Like

Leave a comment