Chronic Wasting Disease :(

Not only did I feel as if I was going to implode internally while purposefully making this atrocious poster, but I also got very depressed reading about deer that get infected with CWD and inevitably rot from the inside out… :/ But moving on for now I guess…I actually (and unfortunately) drew some inspiration for my bad design from other flyers and posters I’ve seen in Cherry Hall and on the WKU website. While I messed with a number of “sins,” the three I mainly focused on from White Space were:

  • Centering Everything
  • Warped Photos
  • Tacky Type

I mainly chose these “sins” because they are the issues I see most often amongst campus flyers. I’d say the problems are both perceptional and cultural — the distortion of the images is distracting while the jumble of bolded/italicized/underlined text makes it difficult to both read and figure out what should be read first. White Space states that centering can make “visual flow issues,” reversing text (like my title) is a no-no because we’re used to reading dark text on light backgrounds, and underlining is a typeset only 13-year-olds use…these are all culturally situated opinions. Those who speak and read Arabic read from right to left, so what would they have to say about an all-centered design? And several cultures around the world don’t put their young children in computer classes where they are forced to learn about Microsoft Word…so they might not hold some kind of judgement about underlining text the way White Space does.

I use a number of the “Tacky Type” variations seriously in my own designs, I just try to use them sparingly and appropriately. I don’t think it’s a design “sin” to underline, reverse, or stroke text as long as there’s a strong purpose behind it, unlike the bad design I came up with. Do you find these text variations to be a problem for you as a reader? Do you think what White Space has to say about “tacky type” is always applicable? Have you seen successful/valid examples of underlining, reversing, stroking or capitalizing in a real-world design?

One thought on “Chronic Wasting Disease :(

  1. Great “sinful” design to start! With this project, I had a really hard time committing these sins. I caught myself wanting to fix/change them over and over again. Overall though, this project really bettered my understanding of the sins and how to use them. As far as your question, I think a very valid example of using “tacky type” such as underlining, bold, italics, is because I do feel as if sometimes it creates this emphasis on what is being said. This saying that that text is more important or at least important to read. This project was so fun even though it killed my OCD.

    Like

Leave a comment